Everything About Software Development And The 6 Stages of SDLC

In common words, software development is the development of software for different purposes. For software development, there is a particular programming language. These languages include Java, Python, C/C++, etc. 

The entire process of software development isn’t as simple as its definition. It is a difficult process. Therefore, it requires an efficient approach from the developer in the Software Development Life Cycle (SDLC).

Proper planning and execution are the two key components of a successful software development process. The entire software development process comprises 6 stages. Software Development Life Cycle is a common term to summarize these 6 stages. 

Hence, on today’s blog, we will study those 6 stages, one by one. So, without further delay, let’s start the discussion.


SDLC is a framework that specifies the task(s) to perform at various stages by a developer. SDLC makes sure that the end product can meet the customer’s expectations. It also ensures that the entire software completes inside the overall budget. Hence, it becomes vital for a software developer to have prior knowledge of this software development process. Therefore, read further to know more about SDLC.

We discuss the 6 stages below.


Stage 1:

Planning and Requirement Analysis 

Planning is the basic step in everything and so as in software development. Also in this stage, the developers perform requirement analysis for the organization. We achieve this from the inputs from the customers, sales department/market surveys. 

The information from this analysis, therefore, forms the building block of the basic project. The quality proof of the project results from planning. Hence, in this stage, the basic project is designed with the information.

Stage 2:

Defining the Requirements

In this stage, we define all the requirements for the target software. Then, these requirements get approval from the customers, market analysts, and stakeholders.

This is achieved by using SRS (Software Requirement Specification). This is a document. It specifies all those things that need to be defined and created during the entire project cycle.

Stage 3:

Designing The Architecture 

SRS is a reference for the software architects to come out with the best architecture for the software. Hence, with the requirements defined in SRS, multiple designs for the product architecture are present in the Design Document Specification (DDS). 

Market analysts and stakeholders analyze DDS. After considering all the factors, it chooses the most reasonable design for the development. 

Stage 4:

Developing the Product

At this stage, the actual development of the product starts. For this, developers use a specific programming code as per the design in the DDS. Hence, it is important for the coders to follow the guidelines set by the organization. This helps in generating the code without disagreement. 

Popular programming tools like compilers, interpreters, debuggers, etc. are also put into use at this stage. Some popular languages like C/C++, Python, Java, etc. are put into use as per the software requirements.

Stage 5:

Product Testing and Integration

After the development of the product, testing of the software is important to ensure its smooth performance. Although, minimal testing is performed at every stage of SDLC. 

Therefore, at this stage, all the defects are tracked, fixed, and retested. Because doing this ensures that the product meets the quality requirements of SRS. 

Stage 6:

Deployment and Maintenance of the Product

After complete testing, we release the final product in phases as per the organization’s strategy. Then we test it in a real business environment. Because it is important to ensure its smooth performance. If it performs well, the company releases the product. After getting useful feedbacks, the company releases it as it is or with additional improvements to make it further useful for the customers. 

However, this alone is not enough. Therefore, along with the deployment, the product’s maintenance is also vital. Because proper maintenance ensures smooth functioning.Hence, these 6 stages summarize the entire software development life cycle, starting from its planning to deployment and maintenance. Because every stage plays an important role in Software Development. Hence, the main aim of this blog is to make everyone aware of this.